Quarterly. My Subscription Addiction – A.K.A. M.S.A. Box Review

image

For those of you who are new to the weird, addictive, wild world of Subscription Boxes; the place to start is a website called MySubscriptionAddiction.com.  The lady who runs that site is named Liz.  I don’t know anything else about her other than she has a husband and I think two small dogs – and she subscribes, or receives, pretty much every single subscription box on the planet.  If you are curious about a particular subscription box, just go there and I would be shocked if she hasn’t reviewed several months worth of the box you are interested in.  If I am interested in a box, I always go to her site and look at the contents of several months worth of that box (with the exception of Quarterly boxes) and then decide if I will subscribe.  I figured out pretty quickly that she gets a lot of sub boxes to review for free – so she understandably doesn’t ever say anything that is too critical or negative about any box.

So when I read on her site that she was chosen by Quarterly to become a Curator for them, getting her box was a no-brainer.  Here is a woman that spends a great deal of her everyday life opening, collecting, photographing and reviewing subscription box contents.  I wonder if it is her whole day?  Is that her only job?  Is she just one person or many, many people running one site?  It seems like an awful lot of work to review and take pictures and post about that many boxes all the time.  Anyway, who better than her to know exactly what most woman would want to open in a subscription box?  I had a few reservations only because one of the other things I know about Liz is that she prefers all natural, free of anything products, so I worried I might get a box full of weird, vegan stuff that I couldn’t use.  Then I just used logic and went for it.

This box was $50 plus shipping but I used a promo and got it for $48 with free shipping.

What’s in the very first one?  Check it out:

image

1. Raw Naturals Chai Latte Candle:$24 at raw-naturals.com.  I had to list this first because this candle hit my nose like a warm wonderful wave as soon as I got the box open.  I LOVE THIS CANDLE!  It has a wooden wick to make a crackle sound while it burns.  This thing smells insanely good – just like a fresh, hot Chai Latte picked right up from Starbucks, except without the overly roasted beans.  I will, without a doubt, be ordering so many more of these.

image

2. Full sized Juice Beauty Lip Gloss. $15 at Juicebeauty.com.  Now this is an organic item that I can live with and even love = it’s just simply a perfect lip gloss.  I am a lippie addict – at last count I had over 40 (don’t judge me) lip sticks, glosses, creams, tars etc…. I have really big lips – all natural – and just can’t live without mascara and lip gloss.  I much prefer gloss to lip stick and I much prefer this gloss to almost every other one I own.  It will go in the coveted spot of my car console so I can use it all the time and, hopefully, I won’t be true to form and misplace or lose it in a week.  This formula is light, not sticky, not gooey, tastes great and feels really good.  It also has just the right amount of color that it looks natural – like your lips, but better if that makes sense.

Before

Before

After

After

So not a huge change in color, but I have to be careful because I can very quickly go from cute to clownish with too much color.

image

3. Fig + Yarrow Cardamom and Coffee Body Scrub – $22 at Figandyarrow.com.  Ok, this looked weird and smelled even worse, but something about that made it also seem like it must be an extra special, high quality product.   It was wrapped up perfectly in bubble wrap and I damn near needed scissors to get it out.  This is supposed to exfoliate and improve your skin’s appearance; the caffeine from the coffee is also supposed to tighten skin and improve it’s appearance.  I think once I get over the initial hardcore scent of it, I will be very happy with this – though I don’t think it, or anything else, will ever replace my “Buffy The Backside Slayer” from Lush for body exfoliation.

image

See how thick and gooey?  This should be interesting.

image

4. Tatcha Polished Classic Rice Enzyme Powder – $65 at Tatcha.com.  Whoa, this is some fancy stuff.  The packaging and wrapping are ultra fancy and looked so pretty that I hated to use it.  It felt like the kind of item I should gift wrap and give to a friend – but for Y’alls sake, I sacrificed and tore into this baby to test it out.  This is a powder cleanser = it has a little slide opening and you pour a little bit onto wet hands and it forms a paste that you rub all over your face.  It is gentle and mild and feels so luxurious  and unique.  My face felt nicely cleansed and not like I used a sandblaster like most exfoliators.  My only issue is that you cannot use this over your eyes to remove eye makeup.  You have to use a separate product on your eyes – supposedly.  I put it on my eyes anyway and nothing horrible happened, except it didn’t do snot for removing my mascara.  So I will use this all up and feel pampered and special and fancy.

imageimage

^^^^ just more shots of the packaging because it’s seriously the shiz.

image

5. An Infinity Scarf! $25.  There were four different patterns for this scarf and I am really happy with the one I got.  Before finding Golden Tote, The absolute majority of my wardrobe was black , white or grey, so this will fit nicely.  There was one last thing that I know about Liz , and that is that she loves scarves like I love Dr. Pepper – so I fully expected a scarf in this box.  The only thing I don’t get is why someone obsessed with natural beauty would send out a 100% acrylic scarf?  I ain’t mad though because the scarf is soft, fluffy and super cute.

imageimage

I experimented with different styling = I probably will NOT be wearing it as a hoodie….

image

6. Finally, a trio of coupons, though sadly, none of them were for a discount on that candle 😦

All totaled this box added up to a value of  $151 but I always look at it as – Was this box worth the fifty bucks?  Hell yeah it was!  I have subscribed to this one because I don’t want to risk missing one – and Y’all probably should too, especially if Liz can promise to keep delivering such a great box for such a reasonable price.

P.S. – on the My Subscription Addiction website there is a “swaps” board where you can list the items you get from subscription boxes and trade them for other items.  You are supposed to only ever list items from sub boxes, but that rule doesn’t seem to be very well respected.  If you can tolerate and weed through a lot of women offering you used mascara (not kidding) and food (still not kidding), then there are a lot of good ladies making truly fair trades on that board.  I have gotten some things I missed in boxes – while sending things I would never use off to a home where they will, hopefully, be loved more.  The trading board is a very necessary thing in the sub box world – but I warn you that it’s very easy to get frustrated, irritated or just bored with some of the antics pulled by some of the traders.  There are always a couple bad apples in a big bunch, so just shake it off and trade away.

About Buffaloney84

I am a mom, lawyer, friend and all around goofball. I am one pet away from being put on an episode of Animal Hoarders. In my spare time (hahaha spare time!), I ride horses and compete in Show Jumping. I am an all in soccer and baseball mom and I have been caught yelling obnoxiously at a Ref and/or Umpire (sorrynotsorry). I am a true Tomboy so all this beauty and makeup stuff is new for me, but I have no fear in trying new trends and fads. I also have no fear in giving a completely honest, critical, unbiased opinion on anything and everything - just ask me!
This entry was posted in My Subscription Addiction, quarterly, Subscription box and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

