New Sub Box for Horse People!

image

UPDATE! This company has the worst possible customer service I have ever seen from a subscription box service. I was impressed with the contents of the box and contacted them to see about BUYING, not asking for anything for free, a six month subscription to donate as a raffle prize for our end of year banquet for our local show organization = SHJGonline.com. I told them in the email that I had done this review and gave them the link to it. I said I thought the box was a real hit and I was really impressed – so much so that I wanted to give them even more exposure at our banquet so could they please send me any advertising to use, along with the certificate. Their response? “Alex” at A Horse Box emailed me back and said they were insulted by this review because I didn’t like their name and because I was skeptical about it because it was so new. Really?! Sensitive much Alex? The rest of the email was terse and not helpful and didn’t answer any of my questions. It was clear they wanted nothing to do with our banquet, and all the FREE advertising – all because I thought the name was boring. Seriously….I cannot make this up. Oh, and they deleted the link to the review I posted on their Facebook page. No joke. So I will leave the original review below – but I think all of you should stay far, far away from “A Horse Box” because there is no way a company can stay in business long with customer service like that.

Sub Box: A Horse Box (could have been a little more creative with the name – just sayin)

Cost:

1 month = $22 a month

3 month = $20

6 month = $17

Plans automatically renew unless you cancel.  According to the site, each month you will receive “3-5 handpicked items – from the best grooming products to gourmet treats and more”

They also have something called the “Tack Box” which is a onetime $20.00 purchase of “everyday essentials for the horse owner”

So my friend and employee, Amanda, bought the “Tack Box” to give this thing a try and see if it is legitimate and worth the money.  She brought it in so I could snap some (crummy) pics and give my opinion of it to Y’all.  I was very skeptical that this would be something special; and I was wrong.

When Amanda bought the box, she put in the comments section “Happy 21st Birthday to me” – well, the Horse Box (seriously should have come up with a better name) people sent her a card with a handwritten note wishing her a Happy 21st Birthday and hoping she enjoys her “goodies” = that’s pretty great customer service right there!

Ok – so what’s inside?

image

A bunch of stuff that all Horse Owners and Riders would think is super cool!

image Three Electrolyte tabs that you drop in your horse’s water.

image A generic brand of Vet Wrap – but turquoise with blue stars! (I tried to steal this)

image A highly concentrated Absorbine Liniment that makes a full gallon

image Corona Ointment!  This is good stuff, and a really deluxe 2 oz size too!

image This is worth the cost of the box alone – a three pack of Showsheen products, each 4 fl oz.  Awesome!

image We had never heard of this, but it’s some type of cream for your parts that “reduces friction”?!  We had a good giggle over the description.  It’s a very small sample – but I’m sure it’s enough to cover a “part” and we will see what it does!

image Finally, four, made from scratch horse treats.  I’m not sure how I feel about homemade food items in a box…even if they are just for horses.  There was no information really about where, or how, these things were made – just an ingredient list that included sugar, oats, apple syrup, wheat and other natural products.  You will see there is a corner missing off of one where I got to taste test it.  I’m not sure how I feel about eating homemade food from an unknown source – but those things are delicious.  Amanda said “NO – they are for Sirran” when I tried to eat a whole one.  Whatever.

So – The Horse Box sounds like it could be a legitimately awesome sub box for the horse owner, rider, leaser, trainer.  I think I will have to sub to this for a few months and find out.

Oh and Sirran Sweetie? You better eat those cookies fast because I know where your Momma’s tack trunk is….

image

About Buffaloney84

I am a mom, lawyer, friend and all around goofball. I am one pet away from being put on an episode of Animal Hoarders. In my spare time (hahaha spare time!), I ride horses and compete in Show Jumping. I am an all in soccer and baseball mom and I have been caught yelling obnoxiously at a Ref and/or Umpire (sorrynotsorry). I am a true Tomboy so all this beauty and makeup stuff is new for me, but I have no fear in trying new trends and fads. I also have no fear in giving a completely honest, critical, unbiased opinion on anything and everything - just ask me!
This entry was posted in Subscription box and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

