Sub review: Elizabeth & Clarke

image

The Sub Box: Elizabeth & Clarke

Cost: Varies

Shipping and Returns: Free

Customer Service: Awesome

I hate shopping for shirts. I just don’t like it. I always gravitate towards the dresses and solid gray, black or white tank tops and that’s it. Probably 90% of my wardrobe is dresses and boring Target tank tops. So when I heard about a Sub box that is nothing but women’s tops, I had to check it out.

E & C ships four times a year based on the season = Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter. If you ordered right now, you would be getting the Winter Collection and it wouldn’t ship to you until December 1.  Their method is that they have a cut off date for ordering (Nov. 1 for Winter) and then they supposedly make only the number of shirts ordered. That way, they don’t overproduce large batches and it saves you money. The result is a quality shirt at a very affordable price.  Their sizes range from 00 to 14.  They say that they run TTS (True to Size), but I think their styles run a little big.  All of the shirts in this post are a 0 (don’t hate me – it sucks sometimes to be so short and small), and I feel like a 00 might have worked for one and a 2 might have worked better on another and a 0 was just right for the third.

They have three plans:  The Starter is just one shirt for $30. The Signature is two for $25 and the Premium is three for $20 each.  They have three new designs in each collection and two “Forever Styles” that are always available.  I am currently subscribed to the Premium 3 for $60 – but I can see in the future that won’t work well if I don’t like one or two of the collection choices and I already have the Forever shirts.  So I will be dropping down to the Signature plan if I don’t like a choice in a collection. It’s incredibly easy to change your plan or cancel at any time.

So, I got the Fall Box two days ago. I am in love with two items and don’t like one at all (more on that later)…

THE ROSS:

image

The Ross is a gray, button up Henley.  It’s super soft Y’all.  I’m talking major, ultimate, bamboo fabric feeling soft.  I signed up for this Sub hoping for more shirts to wear with my suits for work – but I don’t care anymore because I love this shirt.  I think the softness comes from the fact that it is 65% microfiber modal and 35% cotton.  I love Modal anything = so so soft.

It is nice enough to be worn alone, or perfect for you Northerners who need a layering piece. This is the top I think might have fit a little better as a 00 – but I like my Henley’s like this to be really slim fitting.  No….looking at it in the pictures, I think the size is just right and I’m being self conscious about it.

image

Looks great buttoned up or unbuttoned and its the perfect length.  There isn’t a scratchy seam or tag on it….

image

Light enough to be layered and not bulky looking – but it’s not at all sheer when worn alone.

THE ALLENDE:

image

A perfect fall sweater.  This is another ultra soft piece.  I got this for $20!  This has a beautiful cut, flattering fit and it’s a nice neutral color that isn’t my standard grey, black or white.  This fit is just perfect = nothing catches or rubs anywhere and its just the right length in the arms, sides and back.

I love the interesting neckline on this sweater, and also how it has the notched sides.  It’s hard to see from the pictures – I will never claim to be a photography blog – but this sweater has a beautiful, diamond, waffle pattern to the knit.  It is 50% Viscose and 50% Acrylic.  I think Acrylic sweaters are always soft at first and then become scratchy, pilled, nasty messes pretty quickly, so I am curious to see how this one turns out after a few washes (the label says Dry Clean Only but I will wash it on cold/delicate because I’m not paying to wash a sweater I know can be machine washed)

image

THE BACALL:

This one turned out to be a fail.

image

Looks nice right?  Looks like a great top to wear with my suits like I wanted right:

image

Yeah, I thought so too – till I saw this:

image

I can’t make this work.  I wanted to.  I can’t.  Not only are the arm holes cut weird, but the neckline is weird and uncomfortable too.  It sits really high and looks like it is trying to choke me.  Also, the fabric is 100% Crepe de Chine – which seems like a fancy way of saying “Scratchy Polyester”.  Maybe this would have worked if it was a size bigger?  I don’t know – I just decided I don’t want it.

So what do you do when you get a top you don’t like from E & C?  I called customer service and spoke with a truly lovely young lady, Melony, who said “No Problem” – I gave her my email address and she emailed me a pre-paid return label and I just have to stick my shirt back in the bag, tape the label on and mail it to them.  They offered me a full refund, but I asked if they had any past collection shirts available and Melony was very patient and awesome and she waited while I kept taking the phone away from my face to look at the past shirts and she answered all of my questions about them – including a very honest opinion about how she doesn’t like one of the shirts I was interested in and I should pick my other choice instead.  So, when my Bacall gets back to them, they will then mail me the other top I picked out – all at absolutely no cost on my end!  That cannot be beaten.

I wanted to show you a quick picture or two of one of the “Forever Styles” – The Taylor:

Sleeves rolled and tucked in.

Sleeves rolled and tucked in.

Buttoned up and untucked

Buttoned up and untucked

The Taylor is a perfect off white color and it can be styled so many different ways.  I have already worn it with my suits a few times and worn it casually as well. It has also been washed and holds up fantastic when cold water washed and tumble dried on low.  Love it!

So, my conclusion about Elizabeth & Clarke is that you need this in your life if you are a person, like me, who doesn’t like to shop in real stores – or you are just looking to have a surprise of a couple of well made, low cost shirts dropped on your doorstep every month.  It’s so low risk because you can return anything that doesn’t fit for an exchange or refund – and you can cancel so easily with just a quick email or phone call.  $20 a top!  That’s an amazing deal and Y’all know it….so check it out.

I don’t know if they have a referral program or a promotional code going right now – but when I get them on the phone and find out, I will update and let Y’all know.

ElizabethandClarke.com

About Buffaloney84

I am a mom, lawyer, friend and all around goofball. I am one pet away from being put on an episode of Animal Hoarders. In my spare time (hahaha spare time!), I ride horses and compete in Show Jumping. I am an all in soccer and baseball mom and I have been caught yelling obnoxiously at a Ref and/or Umpire (sorrynotsorry). I am a true Tomboy so all this beauty and makeup stuff is new for me, but I have no fear in trying new trends and fads. I also have no fear in giving a completely honest, critical, unbiased opinion on anything and everything - just ask me!
This entry was posted in Subscription box and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sub review: Elizabeth & Clarke

  1. evonnewilson@hotmail.com says:

    Thank you, I just signed up for that, I am cancelling my stitch fix as Nothing has ever worked for me and I like being able to choose!!

    Like

  2. Teri Pon Futaba says:

    Great review, I plan to sign-up soon to order from the winter collection. Do you have a referral code?

    Like

    • Buffaloney84 says:

      Hi Teri – you can choose one of two ways depending on which you think will save you the most money….
      Use code NEWSLETTER20 to save 20% off your first order or send your email address to me at Thinkinginsidetheboxes@gmail.com and after you order your first box they will give you and I both a $10 credit. I think of you are ordering more than one shirt, then the 20% off code is definitely your best bet. I hope you love them – just make sure to check the size chart, because I had to size down. They have the greatest customer service – so even if you get the wrong sizes, they will fix it with no cost to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

